S. Korea extends travel ban on four nations.


SEOUL, July 23 (Yonhap) — South Korea on Tuesday decided to extend its travel ban on four nations — Iraq, Afghanistan, Syria and Somalia — for another six months to one year, the foreign ministry said, citing worsening unrest in the countries.

Under the decision, South Korean citizens are prohibited from traveling to Iraq until Jan. 31; Syria until July 31, 2014; and Afghanistan and Somalia until Aug. 6, 2014, the ministry said in a statement.

The Seoul government currently bans the four countries, along with Yemen, for travel.

Koreans are banned from visiting Yemen until Aug. 31 this year.